Charlotte Betts began her working life as a fashion designer in London. A career followed in interior design, property management and lettings.

Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up.

The Apothecary’s Daughter was published by Piatkus in August 2011 and won the YouWriteOn Adult Book of the Year Award 2010, the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Joan Hessayon Award 2011 and the RoNA’s Historical Category award for 2013. The sequel, The Painter’s Apprentice was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the Festival of Romance’s Best Historical Read Award in 2012. The Spice Merchant’s Wife was published in 2013 and won the Festival of Romance’s Best Historical Read Award in 2013. The Chateau on the Lake was published in November 2014 and Charlotte is currently writing The House in Quill Court, due to be published in January 2016.

Vivaldi and Violets was published in the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s Fiftieth Anniversary Anthology, Loves Me, Loves Me Not in 2009.

Charlotte lives with her husband in a cottage in the woods on the Hampshire / Berkshire border.

9 comments on “Bio
  1. Tom G says:

    Congratulations on your award win at the RNA from your growing fanbase – very impressive debut novel, good luck

  2. Polly Begy says:

    Congratulations on winning the RNA Joan Hessayon award.

    I can’t wait to get hold of my copy.

  3. Matthew Carter-Bennett says:

    Congratulations on your award. Your supreme talent is finally being recognised. I’m excited for the future!

  4. Isabel says:

    thanks for the link to this in your Xmas card and congratulations!

  5. Jennie Marsh says:

    Hello Charlotte

    I have just finished reading your book The Apothecarys Daughter. Thanks for a wonderful history of the time and place, and a great story as well. I enjoyed it immensely. I am an avid fan of historical novels and I have a great interest in the UK prior to the 1880’s when by then most of my ancestors had left the home country and travelled to either Australia or New Zealand. I usually read Novels dated around the late 18th Century / Early-Mid 19th Century to get an idea of what life was like for them growing up. It is unusual for me to choose a novel set in the 1660’s but I have to say it was the author’s name that appealed to me. My Great Great Grandfather was a Charles Betts growing up in the Limehouse/Bethnal Green area of London. And I guess I choose it wondering if perhaps your husbands family was related to us in some ways. Who knows? Anyway I am so pleased that I did and am wondering if you could give me a list of other historical novels you have written.

    Best wishes
    Jennie Marsh

    • charlotte says:

      Hello Jennie
      It’s fascinating to find out about the times our ancestors lived in, isn’t it? My brother is currently researching my father’s family, some of whom emigrated to New Zealand. My husband isn’t aware of any of his relatives coming from the Bethnal Green/Limehouse area but who knows! A friend of mine, Jean Fullerton, writes wonderful novels set in the Victorian period in the East End of London that might appeal to you. The sequel to The Apothecary’s Daughter, called The Painter’s Apprentice, takes place about twenty years afterwards. My latest novel, The Spice Merchant’s Wife, will be published in August and a ten thousand word short story on Arabella’s adventures, after she escapes over the rooftops from the old apothecary shop, will be available as an e-book in early October. I’m currently researching a novel set at the time of the French Revolution.

  6. Kathleen Sims says:

    Dear Charlotte,your books are outstanding in historical content fact and fiction. I love historical novels and an avid reader of many, i consider yours to be the best i have read. They have transported me back in time to another era. Thank you for the sheer enjoyment of reading, you are truly a gifted writer. Any one of your books would make an epic television drama. Best wishes and kind regards Kathy Sims.

    • Dear Kathy, you have absolutely made my day by your very kind words! Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know you enjoy my writing. Perhaps you would like to know that the next novel, The Dressmaker’s Secret, will be published in May 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


My books

About Charlotte

Charlotte Betts Always a bookworm, Charlotte discovered her passion for writing after her three children and two step-children had grown up. She lives with her husband in a cottage in the woods on the borders of Hampshire and Berkshire.

Buy now

buy now from Amazon UK


Press Officer

Contact Charlotte via Clara Diaz, Press Officer on 020 3122 6565 or at Little Brown Book Group, Carmelite House, 50 Victoria Embankment, London EC4Y 0D2