Guest Author – Rachel Brimble

June 17, 2020 9:50 am by

A very warm welcome to guest author, Rachel Brimble, the author of twenty-five historical romances. Over to you, Rachel!

Why I Love To Write About Strong Women…

I’ve always wanted to write, but it wasn’t until my youngest daughter started school full-time that I started to pursue my dream of becoming a published novelist. That was in 2005 and, when my first book was published in 2007, I was ecstatic!

Just recently, I handed in my twenty-fifth full-length novel to my current publisher (Aria Fiction). I have always loved drawing inspiration from real-life progressive and inspirational women, and this is reflected in the types of heroines I like to portray in my books.

As I write historical romance, these women ultimately end up falling in love, but it’s their journey of self-discovery and empowerment that drives me to ensure my characters succeed. The love aspect is merely a much-welcomed added extra!

My latest series is set in the fictional Pennington’s Department Store in Bath, England. Influenced by my love of the TV series Mr Selfridge and The Paradise, I was inspired to write a series that focused on the women’s issues of the early 20thcentury.

Once I’d decided on the theme of ‘female empowerment’, there was no stopping my fingers at the keyboard. I am passionate about self-growth, belief and achievement and to write about women determined to make a societal change. Book 1 in the series (A Shop Girl in Bath) is about women striving to make their mark in business amid an extremely male-dominated world, book 2 (A Shop Girl Gets The Vote) is about women’s suffrage, book 3 (A Shop Girl’s Christmas) tackles divorce in the early 19th century and book 4 and my latest release, A Shop Girl At Sea, is about survival and seeking a new life abroad. This book partially takes place on the Titanic which I absolutely adored writing and hope I have done so with sensitivity and respect.

The research to uncover the required characterisation and inspiration to create these female protagonists led me to learn about some truly phenomenal real-life women. Discoveries that will stay with me forever. There are names we are familiar with – famous suffragettes, women aviators, doctors and scientists who all excelled and made their mark at the turn of the century, but there were also many women who remain unknown to us. Or at least, they were to me.

It is these women that inspire my work and the heroines I want to spend months and months with as I pen a 90,000 word novel about their evolving lives. The Edwardian period was a time of great change for women and it’s exciting to be a part of that. I love bringing historic women’s issues to the forefront of my novels and hopefully inspiring readers in their lives today.

I could not write without women from the past, the present and undoubtedly, the future.

Here’s to the strong women who have gone before us and who continue to walk with us today!

Rachel’s latest release is A Shop Girl At Sea – visit her website for a full-list and links to the series (all books can be read as single titles)

Bath, 1912

Amelia Wakefield loves working at Pennington’s, Bath’s finest department store. An escape from her traumatic past, it saved her life. So when Miss Pennington sets her a task to set sail on the Titanic and study the department stores of New York, she couldn’t be more excited – or determined!

Frustrated with his life at home, Samuel Murphy longs for a few weeks of freedom and adventure. Meeting Amelia on board the Titanic, Samuel can’t help wonder what painful history has made the beauty so reserved. But he already has too many responsibilities for love.

Ruby Taylor has always kept her Pennington co-workers at a distance. Making sure her little brother is safe has always been her priority. But when that means accepting Victoria Lark’s offer of sanctuary, more than one of Ruby’s secrets is under threat of being revealed…

A riveting and uplifting saga, perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Fiona Ford.

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Shop-Girl-Sea-Penningtons-Book-ebook/dp/B0844YNJSR/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=rachel+brimble&qid=1579886168&sr=8-4

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Shop-Girl-Sea-Penningtons-Book-ebook/dp/B0844YNJSR/ref=sr_1_6?keywords=rachel+brimble&qid=1579886275&sr=8-6

Rachel lives with her husband and their two daughters in a small town near Bath, England. She is the author of over 20 published novels including the Pennington’s department store series (Aria Fiction) and the Templeton Cove Stories (Harlequin).

Her next project is a Victorian trilogy set in a Bath brothel which she recently signed with Aria Fiction. The series will feature three heroines determined to change their lives and those of other women. The first book. A Widow’s Vow is due for release in September and available for Amazon preorder now.

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and has thousands of social media followers all over the world.

To sign up for her newsletter (a guaranteed giveaway every month!), click here:

https://us12.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=ab0dc0484a3855f2bc769984f&id=bd3173973a

Website: https://rachelbrimble.com/

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/rachelbrimbleauthor/?hl=en

Posted in Blog, Guest Authors

One response to “Guest Author – Rachel Brimble”

  1. Liz Harris says:

    What an interesting post, Rachel! You certainly seem to have covered some of the most important, and most interesting, social issues of the period in which you set your novels. Thank you, Rachel and Charlotte, for a very enjoyable post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *