Waterstone’s Review

September 23, 2011 9:51 am by

I was thrilled to find this review for The Apothecary’s Daughter by Emma Pennell of Waterstone’s in Chichester.

The Apothecary’s Daughter  

A debut novel from an exciting new voice in historical romance set in bustling, malodorous London at the time of the plague, just before the Great Fire of 1666.

Couldn’t get enough of it!

 Overall rating: 5 out of 5

Emma Louise Pennell at Waterstones, Chichester  ‘Loved it!’

15 September 2011 

I really enjoyed this novel, Bett’s drops you straight into a world gripped by the fear of contamination on the streets of London. I am not usually one for a historical romance, however I couldn’t help feeling for the wonderfully interesting Susannah and the terrible bout of bad luck she seems to go through in this narrative. From facing the sexism of society to dealing with the terrible wants and needs of a parasitic stepmother, all Susannah wants is to work as an apothecary in a time of great need for the people of London. I can’t say too much of the story otherwise I would give far too much away, a lot of things happen to Susannah as she goes from what she sees as a secure future to a woman who becomes lost on her own path. The references to bursting plague sores, screaming families and the terrible eventuality of the death cart are brutal and so very real, it is amazing how the author manages to weave such an uplifting, yet fraught romance into this dark setting. A brilliant read for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, and a fabulous new author to watch out for! I just couldn’t put this down, it kept me up far too late in the night.

www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/Charlotte-Betts/The-Apothecary-s-Daughter/7959747/

The Apothecary’s Daughter – book cover

Posted in Blog, News and Reviews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *