Letting in the Light

Letting in the Light

 

Letting in the Light is a standalone story and #3 in the Spindrift trilogy, a multi-generational family drama set in an artists’ community during the Great War.

1914 Spindrift House, Cornwall

Edith Fairchild’s good-for-nothing husband, Benedict, deserted her when their children were babies. Now the children are almost adult, Edith and Pascal, her faithful lover of two decades, are planning to leave their beloved Spindrift artists’ community in Cornwall and live together in blissful sin in France.

But an explosive encounter between Benedict and Pascal forces old secrets into the light, causing rifts in the happiness and security of the community. Then an assassin’s bullet fired in faraway Sarajevo sets in train a chain of events that changes everything.

The community left in Cornwall struggles to eke out a living, while the younger generation enlist or volunteer to support the war effort, facing dangers that in the golden summer of 1914 would have seemed unimaginable.

When it’s all over, will the Spindrift community survive an unexpected threat and will Edith and Pascal ever be able to fulfil their dream?

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary’s Daughter, comes a beautifully evocative family drama Letting in the Lightperfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Harriet Evans, Judith Lennox, Rosamund Pilcher and Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles.

Available in e-book, Trade paperback and audio versions on 20th January 2022 and in paperback on the 7th July 2022.

Pre-Order Here