The Light Within Us

 

 

A slight departure from my previous historical novels, The Light Within Us is the first book in The Spindrift trilogy, a multi-generational drama set in Cornwall at the turn of the 20th century.

Talented painter Edith Fairchild is looking forward to a life of newlywed bliss with her charismatic husband Benedict. He recently inherited Spindrift House near Port Isaac and Edith is inspired by the glorious Cornish light and the wonderful setting overlooking the sea. But then happiness turns to heartbreak. In great distress, Edith turns to an artist friend for comfort. After a bitterly-regretted moment of madness she finds herself pregnant with his child.

Too ashamed to reveal her secret, Edith devotes herself to her art. Joined at Spindrift House by her friends, Clarissa, Dora and Pascal, together they turn the house into a thriving artists’ community. But despite their dreams of an idyllic way of life creating beauty by the sea, it becomes clear that all is not perfect within their tight-knit community. The weight of their secrets could threaten to tear apart their paradise forever . . .

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary’s Daughter, comes a beautifully evocative family drama The Light Within Us, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Harriet Evans, Judith Lennox, Rosamund Pilcher and Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet Chronicles . Buy here