The RNA RoNA Awards

I was absolutely delighted when it was announced at the Romantic Novelists’ Association RoNA awards ceremony at the Royal Airforce Club in Piccadilly last night that The Apothecary’s Daughter had won the Historical Romantic Novel category. Some wonderful novels were shortlisted for the RoNAs and I was proud that The Apothecary’s Daughter was amongst them.

It’s hard work writing a novel, especially when you also work full time. All those hours tapping away night after night when I’d rather be watching telly, all the times I got up at 5am to write a page or two before going to the office and all those weekends racing to meet a deadline, well, now I know it was worth it.

So a very big thank you to all the readers who loved The Apothecary’s Daughter. You made it all worthwhile.

Contemporary Romantic Novel winner – Katie Fforde
Epic Romantic Novel winner – Rowan Coleman
Historical Romantic Novel winner – Charlotte Betts
Romantic Comedy Novel winner – Jenny Colgan
Young Adult Romantic Novel Winner – Victoria Lamb

Judy Finnigan and Richard Madeley announced the five category winners who will contest the prestigious Romantic Novel of the Year during a glittering reception in London. The winning novels will now be read and judged by five independent industry experts, and the overall winner will be revealed at the Romantic Novelists’ Association’s (RNA) Summer Party on 16 May 2013.Annie Ashurst, current RNA Chair, told the capacity gathering of some 250 romantic fiction authors, publishers and guests how proud the Association was of its finalists and winners.”Tonight we are here to celebrate the success of our brightest stars. We are proud of their talent, tenacity and dedication to their craft. It is a lonely thing to write a novel, and to keep on going even as doubts set in – as they do with us all. Our Awards give us an opportunity to publicly recognising the enjoyment you bring to your readers. Congratulations to you all.”

Long-time RNA member, Sophie Kinsella, was honoured with an Outstanding Achievement Award for her continued contribution to the world of romantic fiction.

Sarah Mallory won The RoNA Rose Award with Beneath the Major’s Scars

Katie Fforde has won the Contemporary Category for the second year running with Recipe for Love. This category is for mainstream romantic novels set after 1960. The other competing authors included Veronica Henry, Mhairi McFarlane, Monica McInerney, Sue Moorcroft and Polly Williams.

In the Epic Category, which deals with issues or themes including multi-generational novels, Rowan Coleman triumphed with Dearest Rose. Other finalists included Madeline Miller, Dilly Court, Kate Moreton, Gill Paul and Liz Trenow.

Finalists in the Historical Category (set before 1960) included Charlotte Betts, Christina Courtenay, Kate Furnivall, Pamela Hartshorne, Susanne Kearsley and Mary Nichols. Charlotte Betts was declared the winner with her novel The Apothecary’s Daughter.

In the Romantic Comedy Category, for consistently humorous or amusing novels, the finalists included Jenny Colgan, Victoria Connelly, Jane Costello, Nicola Doherty, Belinda Jones and Jane Wenham-Jones.  Jenny Colgan claimed victory with Welcome to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop of Dreams.

The Young Adult Category features protagonists who are teenagers or young adults and the shortlist this year included Jo Cotterill, Laura Jarratt, Marie-Louise Jensen, Victoria Lamb, Sarra Manning and Susan Waggoner.  Victoria Lamb was declared winner with her bookWitchstruck.

2 thoughts on “The RNA RoNA Awards”

    • Hi Natasha

      Thank you! It was very exciting to receive the award. I’m always happy to sign my books for readers and I’m hoping to sign copies on the 19th October at the lovely Hungerford Bookshop.


Leave a Comment